login   |    register

Scale Modeling Sponsors

See Your Ad Here!

User Support
This forum deals with technical issues, email problems or other support related issues.
Adding pictures to your posts
navychief
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Michigan, United States
Joined: March 13, 2009
KitMaker: 47 posts
AeroScale: 7 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 04, 2017 - 03:07 AM GMT+7
Thanks for your help, Darren. I got it figured out.

Michael
CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
#406
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: May 14, 2006
KitMaker: 9,985 posts
AeroScale: 224 posts
Posted: Sunday, July 02, 2017 - 06:39 AM GMT+7
Michael your attempt was basically correct except that you copied the location at the top of the page rather than under the image.
Removed by original poster on 07/02/17 - 00:48:42 (GMT).
navychief
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Michigan, United States
Joined: March 13, 2009
KitMaker: 47 posts
AeroScale: 7 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 01, 2017 - 05:34 PM GMT+7
navychief
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Michigan, United States
Joined: March 13, 2009
KitMaker: 47 posts
AeroScale: 7 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 01, 2017 - 03:04 PM GMT+7
Forget it, I quit!
navychief
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Michigan, United States
Joined: March 13, 2009
KitMaker: 47 posts
AeroScale: 7 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 01, 2017 - 03:04 PM GMT+7
" BORDER="0">
navychief
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Michigan, United States
Joined: March 13, 2009
KitMaker: 47 posts
AeroScale: 7 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 01, 2017 - 03:02 PM GMT+7
six.... " BORDER="0">
navychief
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Michigan, United States
Joined: March 13, 2009
KitMaker: 47 posts
AeroScale: 7 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 01, 2017 - 02:54 PM GMT+7
Five
navychief
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Michigan, United States
Joined: March 13, 2009
KitMaker: 47 posts
AeroScale: 7 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 01, 2017 - 02:36 PM GMT+7
Four....
navychief
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Michigan, United States
Joined: March 13, 2009
KitMaker: 47 posts
AeroScale: 7 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 01, 2017 - 02:22 PM GMT+7
I'll give it a shot. Thanks Brother.
JPTRR
Staff MemberManaging Editor
RAILROAD MODELING
#051
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Tennessee, United States
Joined: December 21, 2002
KitMaker: 6,873 posts
AeroScale: 2,933 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 01, 2017 - 02:16 PM GMT+7
Man, sorry it is still being cranky.

I wrote this for someone a few months ago. I recall it led them down the path to success:

Hi All,

I am exploring how to explain adding photos to our forum posts easily.

This image is in my gallery as a small thumbnail. I clicked on it and it enlarged.

First, I copied the URL directly from Linked Thumbnail and pasted it and it made this small thumbnail:


Second, to the right of that link box is an icon that looks like a picture frame with a paperclip. Click it and it brings up two URLs:

1. HTML code

2. Direct link

If you copy the URL directly out of HTML code it looks like this:

Direct link looks like this (italics added): /data/500/OKC_RR_Museum_2_8_0_14_1000x708_.jpg

I don't know why it does not show the entire URL string: http://gallery3.kitmaker.net/data/500/OKC_RR_Museum_2_8_0_14_1000x708_.jpg

Regardless, it does not have the string ends '[img ]' and '[/img]' (do not have any space between the brackets and 'img'), thus it will only display as a line of code. Bracketing that code with '[img ]' and '[/img]' looks like this:

A slightly quicker way is simply to right-click the full-size image and Copy Image Location. That makes a hot link of the proceeding URL http://gallery3.kitmaker.net/data/500/OKC_RR_Museum_2_8_0_14_1000x708_.jpg. You just have to click the '[img]' button at far right below the post page text box, and insert the URL string.

Hope this helps.
navychief
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Michigan, United States
Joined: March 13, 2009
KitMaker: 47 posts
AeroScale: 7 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 01, 2017 - 01:50 PM GMT+7
I attempted to post as per the above instructions, however, on my new computer(windows version 10,000 or whatever)when I right click on the photo all I get is copy, share or ask Cortana, no properties. I attempted to manually copy the image location and it posted a link(no photo). I also tried the linked image icon to the right of image location and only got a tiny picture. My photos are within the 800x600 pixel parameters and below the maximum Kb size, so I am at a loss. This the first time in a few years that I have posted here and the first time with this brand new computer. Any help to resolve this issue would be greatly appreciated.
celt15
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Wales, United Kingdom
Joined: September 16, 2016
KitMaker: 95 posts
AeroScale: 1 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 21, 2017 - 01:06 PM GMT+7
Thanks Mark C,I have added photos of my first armour kit in my photos and will try to add post tomorrow as its only now that I have got home and I am shattered.Thanks Ken.
Namabiiru
#399
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Virginia, United States
Joined: March 05, 2014
KitMaker: 2,384 posts
AeroScale: 282 posts
Posted: Monday, March 20, 2017 - 12:56 PM GMT+7
Kenneth,
Things have changed slightly since this thread was started, but everyone can add photos. Subscribers have a larger storage limit, but otherwise anyone can use the gallery. Instead of PHOTOS, the link is now labeled GALLERY. You should see it above.

Just click the GALLERY link on the menu bar above and then look for the MY PHOTOS link in the upper left. You can save photos and set up albums there. After that, it's just a matter of following the process outlined in this thread for adding photos to your forum posts.

Hope this helps!

celt15
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Wales, United Kingdom
Joined: September 16, 2016
KitMaker: 95 posts
AeroScale: 1 posts
Posted: Monday, March 20, 2017 - 12:16 PM GMT+7
Hi is it only subscribers that get the photo button on top of the page? I am not a subscriber and have not got a photo button.If only subscribers get this option how can I post pics? Your help would be greatly appreciated.
CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
#406
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: May 14, 2006
KitMaker: 9,985 posts
AeroScale: 224 posts
Posted: Friday, February 24, 2017 - 10:54 AM GMT+7
This issue has been tackled, but keep the file size down to avoid further issues.
CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
#406
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: May 14, 2006
KitMaker: 9,985 posts
AeroScale: 224 posts
Posted: Thursday, February 23, 2017 - 03:26 PM GMT+7
This issue has been highlighted to the publisher and I hope he or I will get back to you shortly.
b17-peter
#392
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Hessen, Germany
Joined: January 09, 2013
KitMaker: 263 posts
AeroScale: 213 posts
Posted: Thursday, February 23, 2017 - 08:30 AM GMT+7
Hello,
I just tried to upload new pictures, but I always get the message
'your graphic is too wide etc.'
but the images are wide below the limit of 3.072kb (ca. 300 -500kb)??
Removed by original poster on 12/08/16 - 15:40:25 (GMT).
rdt1953
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New Jersey, United States
Joined: February 06, 2015
KitMaker: 577 posts
AeroScale: 518 posts
Posted: Thursday, December 08, 2016 - 09:09 AM GMT+7
Test

CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
#406
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: May 14, 2006
KitMaker: 9,985 posts
AeroScale: 224 posts
Posted: Thursday, December 08, 2016 - 04:06 AM GMT+7
[1mg][/1mg]
Insert the address of the image between the above HTML commands and change the Number ONE to an I
rdt1953
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New Jersey, United States
Joined: February 06, 2015
KitMaker: 577 posts
AeroScale: 518 posts
Posted: Thursday, December 08, 2016 - 01:06 AM GMT+7
Again

rdt1953
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New Jersey, United States
Joined: February 06, 2015
KitMaker: 577 posts
AeroScale: 518 posts
Posted: Thursday, December 08, 2016 - 01:02 AM GMT+7
That failed- again -


rdt1953
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New Jersey, United States
Joined: February 06, 2015
KitMaker: 577 posts
AeroScale: 518 posts
Posted: Thursday, December 08, 2016 - 12:58 AM GMT+7
This is a test

GidGar
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Alaska, United States
Joined: August 22, 2005
KitMaker: 45 posts
AeroScale: 17 posts
Posted: Friday, November 11, 2016 - 07:43 PM GMT+7
CMOT,
great thread. Have to admit, it has taken me a long time to get used to the html coding to post pics. Nonetheless, like working on a Lindberg kit, I figured it out.

I'm an avid google photos user. Did find this useful article on how to embed photos from my google drive to the forums:

https://confluence.biola.edu/display/itservices/How+to+Embed+Images+from+Google+Drive+in+a+Web+Page

Had to do just a little modification in the last part of the code, but it seems to be working for me.

<img src="http://drive.google.com/uc?export=view&id=1M-4JDItVL6yX4E_kolUlTRiVg_sx6qqfmA" />



the section "1M...qqfmA" is pasted from my google drive, per the instructions from the link.

still not as easy as some newer GUI's, but I find it easier to use than some of the album features and no more challenges with size limits.

For what it's worth.