login   |    register

Scale Modeling Sponsors

See Your Ad Here!

Site Feedback
Have a suggestion or topic about this site? Post it here.
Hosted by Kevin Brant
Feedback button still broken
Joel_W
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States
Joined: December 04, 2010
KitMaker: 8,500 posts
AeroScale: 7,156 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 22, 2018 - 06:32 PM UTC

Quoted Text

If you watch the latest "Mail Call" videos, you will hear about Jim selling his house and future move (to New Hampshire I think).




Honesty, I don't watch Jim's mail call videos, or even his in box video reviews as I've never seen any value in anyone's in in box reviews these days.

If Jim is busy selling his house and packing up the contents, I wish him well with that massive endeavor. But why not turn back on the posting till he can get back to the programing? Like I said, all it does is discourage members from leaving comments as going back and forth is a pain in the butt. These days it sure seems that there is even less posts then previously.


Joel



GaryKato
_VISITCOMMUNITY
California, United States
Joined: December 06, 2004
KitMaker: 3,289 posts
AeroScale: 118 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 22, 2018 - 03:21 PM UTC
If you watch the latest "Mail Call" videos, you will hear about Jim selling his house and future move (to New Hampshire I think).
Joel_W
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States
Joined: December 04, 2010
KitMaker: 8,500 posts
AeroScale: 7,156 posts
Posted: Monday, May 21, 2018 - 08:24 PM UTC

Quoted Text


Quoted Text

I just posted on the AMK F-14D update, and once again I had to go to the forum post to reply, then manually back to the news forum. After a few times of this, I just moved on, and tend not to post anything unless I'm dying to say something.

It's been nearly two months since I posted about the feedback button still not working. Kevin posted that Jim is working on an improved code for a better overall experience, and had to disable this function to do so. I just can't believe that it's taking month after month after month to do this.


Joel



Relax Joel, It isn't worth it getting upset about this.

I guess there are simply too many other things to do.

For myself, I decided to wait for an improved system and limit my contributions for the time being. It makes me fail a few campaigns, but I already failed campaigns for other reasons that have nothing to do with technology.

Also, don't underestimate the amount of work required to update this site. It has barely evolved during many years (e.g. the gallery problem is there since the beginning) and now the accumulatd amount of work must be huge.

Don't forget that there is only one programmer.

At the end, it leaves more time to do some actual modelling.





Drabslab,

Agreed on all counts. Just that I've always like to post comments on the news, new items, and features, but now it's just to much effort, so I rarely do. Unfortunately, the members who this directly effects are the contributors, not the readers/lookers.


Like you, I just post less then previously. As for the gallery, the only time I ever used it was for 2 pictures of my finished model for a campaign. Other then that I never go near the place.

Joel
drabslab
_VISITCOMMUNITY
European Union
Joined: September 28, 2004
KitMaker: 2,093 posts
AeroScale: 1,565 posts
Posted: Monday, May 21, 2018 - 04:57 PM UTC

Quoted Text

I just posted on the AMK F-14D update, and once again I had to go to the forum post to reply, then manually back to the news forum. After a few times of this, I just moved on, and tend not to post anything unless I'm dying to say something.

It's been nearly two months since I posted about the feedback button still not working. Kevin posted that Jim is working on an improved code for a better overall experience, and had to disable this function to do so. I just can't believe that it's taking month after month after month to do this.


Joel



Relax Joel, It isn't worth it getting upset about this.

I guess there are simply too many other things to do.

For myself, I decided to wait for an improved system and limit my contributions for the time being. It makes me fail a few campaigns, but I already failed campaigns for other reasons that have nothing to do with technology.

Also, don't underestimate the amount of work required to update this site. It has barely evolved during many years (e.g. the gallery problem is there since the beginning) and now the accumulatd amount of work must be huge.

Don't forget that there is only one programmer.

At the end, it leaves more time to do some actual modelling.

Joel_W
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States
Joined: December 04, 2010
KitMaker: 8,500 posts
AeroScale: 7,156 posts
Posted: Thursday, May 17, 2018 - 10:22 PM UTC
I just posted on the AMK F-14D update, and once again I had to go to the forum post to reply, then manually back to the news forum. After a few times of this, I just moved on, and tend not to post anything unless I'm dying to say something.

It's been nearly two months since I posted about the feedback button still not working. Kevin posted that Jim is working on an improved code for a better overall experience, and had to disable this function to do so. I just can't believe that it's taking month after month after month to do this.


Joel
drabslab
_VISITCOMMUNITY
European Union
Joined: September 28, 2004
KitMaker: 2,093 posts
AeroScale: 1,565 posts
Posted: Wednesday, April 04, 2018 - 11:32 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Jim is in the process of updating the code with some new features and it needed to be disabled during the process. He working to give us a new experience, so a little patients will be needed.

Thanks



Do you mean that working on new code happens on the production server and not on a separate development server?

SgtRam
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
AEROSCALE
#197
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Ontario, Canada
Joined: March 06, 2011
KitMaker: 3,754 posts
AeroScale: 435 posts
Posted: Wednesday, April 04, 2018 - 11:27 PM UTC
Jim is in the process of updating the code with some new features and it needed to be disabled during the process. He working to give us a new experience, so a little patients will be needed.

Thanks
Joel_W
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States
Joined: December 04, 2010
KitMaker: 8,500 posts
AeroScale: 7,156 posts
Posted: Wednesday, April 04, 2018 - 08:15 PM UTC
Every time I go to reviews, news, features, every thread still has this instead of the quick reply box working.

"We broke our quick reply box. Working on it. Until fixed go to topic to reply.
Thanks."

It worked for years on end, so it's not a new software addition. So why did it stop working, and why is it taking so long to fix?

It's a quick and easy way to post rather then having to be redirected to the thread in it's appropriate forum, then have to manually go back to where one was and tab down to the next item. After a item or two, I've had it and just move on to the regular forums I follow.

Joel